Prairie Messenger Header

Diocesan News

STM names new board chair

By Jacquie Berg


SASKATOON — The Board of Governors of St. Thomas More College (STM), University of Saskatchewan, recently announced the appointment of Patrick Pitka as Board Chair for a one-year term effective Jan. 1, 2015. Pitka has a long history of involvement with St. Thomas More College and has been a member of the board since 2010.

Pitka is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA) and acts in the capacity of Chief Financial Officer for a number of Not-For-Profit organizations in Saskatoon, additionally serving on the board of directors of several organizations, including Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems Canada, Ltd., the Saskatchewan Housing Corporation, and Trinity Manor at Stonebridge Inc., and is a member of the Audit Committee of Saskatchewan.

“We are extremely fortunate to have someone with Pat’s breadth of experience as our new board chair,” said Dr. Terrence Downey, president of STM. “With over 50 years of business experience and commitment to supporting community organizations, he will provide our college with the kind of leadership that the people have come to expect from our board of governors.”

Pitka was honoured by his profession, the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Saskatchewan, with the designation of Fellow Chartered Accountant (FCA) in 1988 in recognition of his contribution to the profession.

STM is the Catholic college academically integrated with the University of Saskatchewan. In partnership with the College of Arts and Science, students can select from over 220 credit classes in the humanities and social sciences — many unique to the campus. Any U of S student may take STM courses as part of their U of S degrees.

The St. Thomas More College board of governors presently includes Patrick Pitka, Ashley Smith, Bev Hanson, Richard Fontanie, Georgina Jolibois, Marie Stack, Dr. Sharon Wright, Jennifer Hildebrand and Dr. Terrence Downey.

Diocesan News
Canadian News
International News