Prairie Messenger Header

Diocesan News

Regina CWL elects new executive

By Lynn Rogers


SHAUNAVON, Sask. — The 2017 Regina diocesan CWL convention took place at Christ the King Parish in Shaunavon April 23 - 24 with 169 members, dignitaries and guests attending.

Activities began on Sunday at 1:30 with registration, the rosary and opening mass at 4 p.m., celebrated by diocesan spiritual adviser Rev. Ed Hengen, with attending priests concelebrating.

Following mass, the banquet was held in the parish hall. Guest speaker Carla Carlson — author, lawyer and CWL member from Swift Current — spoke on her book Everyday Grace: Finding Your Extraordinary in Ordinary Everyday Life. She challenged participants to discover their everyday grace and live a life incorporating daily acts of mercy. Her stories inspired members to start their works of service from a foundation of love.

Staying Alive, a local entertainment group, capped off the evening with familiar tunes and some musical theatre.

Monday began with morning devotion, followed by the Presentation of Colours. Notice of Calling of Convention commenced the business session. Provincial president Jean Reader updated the members on provincial business. Prince Albert diocesan president Shirley Lamoureux and Saskatoon diocesan president Marlene VanDresar brought greetings. Greetings were also read from national CWL president Margaret Ann Jacobs, MP David Anderson, and MLA Doug Steele.

The diocesan executive delivered their reports, mentioning the 12 Hours of Prayer for Palliative Care, Euthanasia and Doctor Assisted Death, the Theodore School Board decision, and other areas of concern. Lynn Rogers, outgoing president, was presented with the Maple Leaf Service Pin.

This year was an election year. The following is the diocesan executive for 2017 - 19: president — Marilyn Schuck; past president and archivist — Lynn Rogers; president-elect and organization chair — Yvonne Bachelu; first vice-president and resolutions chair — Janette Rieger; recording secretary — Marilyn Mudry Lautsch; corresponding secretary — Wendy Pitre; treasurer — Donna Seebach; spiritual development — Denise Soroka; Christian family life — Bernice Gobeil; communications — Lynn Jones; community life — Marjorie Butel; education and health — Sharon Mayor; legislation — Vicki Mayer. Rev. Ed Hengen remains as spiritual adviser.

Following tradition, the Travelling Madonna was passed on from the Regina Regional Council to Our Lady of the Prairies and Our Lady of the Fields Regional Councils, co-hosts of the 2017 convention.

Regina Archbishop Donald Bolen, speaker for the afternoon, spoke on “Beyond the Year of Mercy.” He shared four central points with regard to mercy: mercy is here to stay — it is the heart of the Gospel; mercy is a kind of love — God loves us and cares for us despite our sinfulness; mercy gives rise to internal virtues of faith, hope and love; and mercy gives rise to external virtues such as justice, compassion and reaching out to others, especially the poor. He encouraged members to carry forward the Year of Mercy by being people of hope.

The convention ended with the retiring of colours and a closing mass celebrated by Bolen, with other priests in attendance concelebrating. The new executive was installed at the mass. A commissioning prayer was celebrated following the installation.

Diocesan News
Canadian News
International News