Prairie Messenger Header

Diocesan News

St. Nicholas School opens


A ribbon was cut Oct. 19 to officially open St. Nicholas Catholic School in the Evergreen neighbourhood of Saskatoon — the last of 18 new schools officially opened this year as part of a provincial joint-use schools project. (Photo by Derrick Kunz)

SASKATOON — Students and staff in Saskatoon’s Evergreen community joined the provincial Education Minister, Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools (GSCS) leaders, and Cathedral of the Holy Family parish representatives to officially open St. Nicholas Catholic School Oct. 19..

This is the 18th and final school to officially open as part of a provincial joint-use schools project.

“Our government is proud to join with the students and staff of St. Nicholas Catholic School to celebrate the grand opening of this beautiful new school and officially mark the completion of the largest school-building project in Saskatchewan history,” Education Minister Bronwyn Eyre said.

“The growth in northeast Saskatoon has increased over the past decade, and as with the other 18 schools we’ve opened, St. Nicholas responds to that growth and future development.”

GSCS board chair Diane Boyko also spoke at the opening. “We’re proud that that the people of Saskatoon, and all of Saskatchewan, want Catholic education for their children,” Boyko said. “We’re humbled that parents entrust us with the task of educating their children and building faithful disciples of Christ.”

St. Nicholas Catholic School can accommodate some 600 students from kindergarten to Grade 8 at full capacity.

“St. Nicholas is right in the heart of Evergreen, which is appropriate since the building will be the heart of this unique and vibrant community,” principal Rick Garman said. “The staff are excited to help shape a strong, faith-filled school community with our students and families. It’s really a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.”

St. Nicholas Catholic School is one half of a joint-use facility that shares space with Sylvia Fedoruk Public School. The joint-use facility also contains a 90-space childcare centre and space available to the community. It is part of the P3 Joint-Use Schools Project that includes 18 publicly owned elementary schools built on nine joint-use sites in Saskatoon, Martensville, Warman and Regina.

The other new GSCS schools are Holy Trinity Catholic School in Warman, École Holy Mary Catholic School in Martensville, and three Saskatoon schools: St. Kateri Tekakwitha Catholic School in the Stonebridge neighbourhood, St. Lorenzo Ruiz Catholic School in the Hampton Village neighbourhood, and St. Thérèse of Lisieux Catholic School in the Rosewood neighbourhood.

One of the many innovative features integrated into the joint-use schools is technology such as interactive touch-screen televisions that allow students to learn about energy consumption, data ports throughout common areas, tablets, smart boards and LCD screens. These devices provide students with the tools that will help them learn and grow in the 21st century.

Since 2007, the Government of Saskatchewan has committed approximately $1.5 billion toward 67 major school capital projects and numerous smaller projects such as portable classrooms and preventative maintenance and renewal.

Diocesan News
Canadian News
International News