Prairie Messenger Header

Diocesan News

SCSB/CHAS presentations recognize years of service

By Frank Flegel


REGINA — The Saskatchewan Catholic School Board Association (SCSBA) presented three Appreciation Awards to individuals who have made significant contributions to Catholic education over long years of service.

Bernadette Cey spent 15 years in Catholic education as a teacher from Grades 1 to high school. During those years she also co-ordinated sacramental preparation, parent meetings, and eucharistic celebrations. She has served as Religious Education consultant with Holy Trinity Catholic School Division, Moose Jaw.

Prince Albert Bishop Albert Thévenot is the bishop in charge of Catholic Education in Saskatchewan. He is a trained teacher who spent many years in the classroom and he has accumulated many interesting experiences — especially while teaching in Africa — that have influenced him in becoming an exceptional leader in education.

Bruno Tuchscherer became a Catholic school board trustee in 1988 and has served in that capacity for 29 years. Since 2004 he has been the board chair. He spent many hours involved in the formation of the Holy Family Catholic School Division, located in Weyburn, in 2004. This was accomplished through the amalgamation of several rural Catholic school divisions, including the Weyburn, Estevan, and St. Olivier School in Radville. Three years later, in 2006, the division boundaries were expanded to include Queen Elizabeth and Spruce Ridge Catholic school divisions; and St. Augustine in Wilcox joined the division in 2009.

Bud Bohun of North Battleford was awarded the Julian Paslawski Meritorious Service Award for his more than 50 years in Catholic education — first as a teacher and school-based administrator, then as a school board trustee from 1992. He retired in 2016 after 24 years as trustee. Paslawski was there for the presentation.

The Catholic Health Association of Saskatchewan (CHAS) presented its Mission Award to the Mont St. Joseph team of Prince Albert. The team members include Lorrie Kaglea, who is director of Financial, Information and Business Services, and has served at Mont St. Joseph in various capacities for 28 years. Joan Byrne is director of Environmental services and leads the housekeeping, laundry and dietary teams; she has been with Mont St. Joseph for 31 years. Shannon Meyers is director of Volunteers and Recreation Services, and is the leader and facilitator for more than 300 volunteers; she has accumulated 28 years of service, including at the Mont St. Joseph Care Home, Holy Family Hospital, the Sisters Presentation of Mary, and the Sisters of Our Lady of the Cross.

Bert Yakichuk of Regina was presented with a CHAS honorary membership. He became involved with Catholic health care when he joined the board of Santa Maria Care Home in Regina, becoming chair chair in 2005 - 2009. He was elected to the CHAS board in 2005 and served as a board member until 2013. He was vice chair in 2009 and chair in 2010, and co-chair of the planning committee for the first joint convention of CHAS and SCSBA.


Diocesan News
Canadian News
International News