Prairie Messenger Header

Diocesan News

Boyko re-elected Catholic board chair

By Derrick Kunz


SASKATOON — Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools’ Board of Education held its annual organizational meeting on Nov. 6, at which Diane Boyko was re-elected chair of the board.

Trustee Wayne Stus, who represents rural areas around Saskatoon and the cities of Martensville and Warman, was elected vice-chair for the third consecutive year.

“This past year has been a challenging one for Catholic education in Saskatchewan, to say the least,” said Boyko, referring to a funding reduction, increased enrolment, changes to regulations for boards of education, and the controversial Theodore court-case ruling.

“Maintaining the confidence of my fellow trustees to represent the division means a lot to me,” she said. “Our entire board and administration work very hard in the best interest of our students, parents, teachers and staff. It’s a privilege to represent them as chair.”

With 50 schools and over 18,000 students, Greater Saskatoon Catholic Schools is Saskatchewan’s largest Catholic school division, providing Catholic education from pre-kindergarten through Grade 12 in Saskatoon and area, Biggar, Humboldt, Martensville and Warman.

Diocesan News
Canadian News
International News